Rediscover Who You Are: Do The People In Your Life Make You Better?

96bddd432d0fcfb64d45602328b5f3b9In order for you to know what you want and where you are going, you must do some soul searching. You must have that conversation with yourself and with God.

As soon as you take the first step and want to evolve and be a better person. The answers will come to you. You will get a sense of knowing what your purpose is. You’ll rediscover why you’re here. God will bring the right people to you, to help you along your journey.

God has blessed each and every one of us with gifts and talents. It’s ok if you don’t know what that is yet. Sometimes you find out later what your gift is. A part of rediscovering who you are, is also having people in your life who love and support you. As a child I always loved to write and my mother always supported and nurtured that when she was alive. But when she passed away, the people in my life never supported me.

It wasn’t until I was 35 that I received any kind of acknowledgement from my writings. A friend male friend of mine told me that I was talented. That I was intelligent. That he loved my writings. Just the fact that he read my work and complimented it, was nice to hear. It was sincere. Whenever we talk he mentions my work. It makes me feel good and it should make me feel good. It makes me feel like someone believes in me, to take time out to read my work.

984755694-amazing-boyfriend-quotesI’m not saying I need a man to validate what I do or to compliment me. I mentioned it because the men I’ve met in the past, don’t support anything that I love to do. All they see is my physical. They don’t want to see me shine. To be 35 at the time (and now 36) and to hear that for the very first time from a guy was nice.

The last relationship I was in. I wasn’t fully supported in any area of my life. I didn’t realize it until people started asking me, who supports you with your dreams and goals? Where’s your significant other in all of this?

When I thought about it, the answer was no one. I couldn’t even answer the question and I was in a relationship. Then I started talking about the things I enjoyed doing and how I wanted to do them again. I realized this person that I shared my life with, was not happy or  supportive of me in any way and he didn’t want to.

I realized why I put a lot of things, I love to do on the shelf because I had no support. No one to hold me accountable. People in your life that want to see you be successful, will push you and hold you accountable. They will love on you hard and believe in your potential. When you decided to share your life with someone, you’re suppose to be in that persons life, to make them a better person. To learn from them and to help them rediscover who they are if they have forgotten.

You’re suppose to bring out the best in someone else and in return it makes you a better person. When you’re a better person for yourself, you’re able to love yourself better and you’re able to love others as well and to help them see their potential. No matter how much you believe in yourself, you still need others who have faith in you too. When you have people in your life, who support you and really love you. You want to be around that type of energy all the time.

If you don’t have people like that in your life…it’s time to do a reassessment of who is really supportive and there for you. All relationships, whether friendships or intimate ones. Could be holding you back and you may not even realize it. If you see that you are changing and not in a good way and not progressing. Take a long hard look at the people you surround yourself with. Check your self esteem too.

Ask yourself, do they make me better? Am I learning from this person? Am I growing? Check in with yourself. Have others check on you too. If the answer is no, then you already know what to do. It’s hard letting go of people you’ve known for years, but in the end It will be better for you. Maybe you’ll reconnect at a later time in life. But always know that your relationships, should enhance your life and that love should make you better and not bitter.

Leave a Reply

